Q. How old do I have to be to attend Driver's Education?
A. The minimum age required: You must be at least 15 years and 9 months by the start of the class.
Q. How long do I have to complete Driver's Education?
A. Students are required to complete the program within 2 years of the start date of their classroom session. No refunds are issued for non completion.
Q. When can I get my Learner's Permit?
A. The minimum age to get your Learner's Permit is 16 years old.
Q. Do I need to have my Learner's Permit to attend Driver's Education Classes?
A. No. As a matter of fact, the Driver's Education Classes will prepare you to take the Learner's Permit Test.
Q. Do I need to take Driver's Education to get my Driver's License?
A. If you are under the age of 18, Massachusetts requires you to successfully complete an RMV approved Driver's Education Program and have the Driver's Education Certificate issued before you can book and take your Driver's License test.
Q. How do I get a Driver's Education Certificate?
A. Upon Completion of all requirements at an approved Driver's Education School and payment of the required $15 fee to the RMV, the school will send an authorization to the RMV stating you have completed the program. The RMV will then issue the Certificate and have your Certificate on file. In most cases, your insurance company will have access to this information and you will not need to produce a copy.
To verify your Certificate has been issued, click here
Q. What does the Full Driver's Education Package Include?
A. The Full Driver's Education Package includes:
30 Hours of Classroom.
12 Hours of Behind the Wheel Driving Instruction
6 Hours of In-Car Observation while another student drives.
2 Hours Separate Class which Parents must attend.
Q. What if I miss a class?
A. The Massachusetts RMV requires you to attend 30 hours of Classroom preparation in order to obtain your Driver's Education Certificate. Our policy is that a student is not allowed to miss any classes unless it is an emergency or if the student is sick. If a class is missed, then that particular class will have to be made up when the next session begins.
Q. If I miss a class, can I still start my On-Road Lessons?
A. Our policy is to that you MUST complete all of your Classroom time before On-Roads can be scheduled.
Q. When can I start taking my On-Road Lessons?
A. Road Lessons may begin after the student has obtained his/her Learner's Permit, after successfully completing the classroom portion of Driver's Education, and after several hours of basic driving with your parents. On-Road lessons will be booked with each student individually over the phone.
Q. I missed an On-Road. What happens now?
A. A forty-eight (48) hour notice is needed to cancel a lesson (prior to 5PM on Thursday afternoon for any weekend appointments). There will be an additional Forty Dollars ($40.00) fee [Sixty Dollars ($60.00) fee for a scheduled two (2) hours of Driving only] charged to the student if the student misses an appointment, is a no-show or is cancelled within the 48 hour window. This fee MUST be paid before the lesson can be rescheduled.
Q. Will I drive in bad weather?
A. This is judged on a storm by storm basis. If On-Roads are cancelled, there will be a message stating so in our voicemail. We will then call students to reschedule once we are back in the office.
Q. What's the earliest I can get my Driver's License?
A. Massachusetts Law mandates that you must be at least 16-1/2 years old, must have completed an approved Driver's Education Program if under the age of 18, must hold your Learner's Permit at least 6 months, and have no at-fault accidents or violations while holding your Learner's Permit.